Lok Sabha elections: Phase 4 campaign for 96 seats in 10 states concludes under hot conditions.

NEW DELHI: The high-stakes campaign for phase four of the Lok Sabha elections concluded on Saturday under searing heatwave conditions in several places. This round included 96 seats from ten states, including all constituencies in Andhra Pradesh (25) and Telangana (17), with simultaneous assembly elections for 175 seats in AP slated for Monday.

Other states with elections scheduled include 13 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 11 in Maharashtra, eight in MP and Bengal, five in Bihar, four in Odisha and Jharkhand, and one in Jammu and Kashmir. Phase 4 will conclude with polling in 23 states and union territories. Of the 96 seats, the BJP won 42 in 2019.

Among the notable contestants in this round are Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav (Kannauj), NCP's Omar Abdullah (Srinagar), Union ministers Giriraj Singh (Begusarai) and Nityanand Rai (Ujiarpur), Congress's Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury (Baharampur), Trinamool's Mahua Moitra (Krishnanagar) and Shatrughnan Sinha (Asansol), AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi (Hyderabad), and AP CM YS Jagan Mohan Reddy's younger sister YS Sharmila of Congress (Kadapa).

In Uttar Pradesh, close races are expected, with SP head Akhilesh fighting BJP's Subrat Pathak in Kannauj, and BJP MP Sakshi Maharaj challenging SP's Annu Tandon in Unnao. Tandon unsuccessfully challenged Sakshi Maharaj as a Congress candidate in 2014 and 2019, after winning the seat in 2009.

Rajiv Ranan alias Lalan Singh, a heavyweight from the JD(U), will face Kumari Anita of the RJD in Munger. Anita is the recently married wife of Nawada jailbreak prisoner Ashok Mahto. Don-turned-politician Anant Singh, who is now on a 15-day parole, campaigned for Lalan. Attention was called to areas such as Samastipur, where the offspring of two Bihar ministers are running in the LS election for the first time. Shambhavi Choudhary, 25, is the country's youngest candidate for the LJP (RV) led by Chirag Paswan. She is competing against Congressman Sunny Hazari, the son of Maheshwar Hazari, a minister in Nitish Kumar's NDA government.

In MP, campaigning for the final eight constituencies—spread across 15 districts in Malwa-Nimar region, considered BJP bastions—ended amidst arguments between PM Narendra Modi and Congress MP Rahul Gandhi

Maharashtra saw a tough struggle for 11 seats, with candidates including Union Minister Raosaheb Danve (Jalna) and former state minister Pankaja Munde of the BJP (Beed) contending for victory. This round will decide the destiny of 298 candidates, including actor Amol Kolhe of NCP (SP) (Shirur, Pune district) and BJP candidate Sujay Vikhe Patil (Ahmednagar).
Previous Post Next Post